The title in itself is catchy but so is the musical play of Wicked. Wicked is performed in New York City at the Gershwin, it is an outstanding performance that everyone should go and see. The show is based on the wicked witch from Wizard of Oz, and her experiences of her entire life and how she got framed. Since I have never seen the Wizard of Oz it was really confusing at the beginning to understand what was happening and also what was going to happen. The performance was truly outstanding, I thought I had seen the best with the Shakespeare Festival Theatre but no this is the best of the best but you are on broadway to say the least. From the outstanding singing to the anticipation of what was going to happen next it truly was jaw dropping for me. I knew there was hype and it was supposed to be good, but experiencing it first hand and being a true RUSH fan and being moved by the music of Wicked was truly amazing because sometimes music is just nothing theres no meaning and like heavy metal it sounds like garbage to say the least. The performers that cast in Wicked definately profit from the performances they put on, and so do the director and anyone else that has to do with the entire performance of this spectacular piece of musically intense drama. Even with it being shown at the Gershwin Theatre months after its release the demand to see the performance is still extremely high, the show our band went to see was sold out, this alone speaks on how amazing it must actually be. Since this is a performance lots of people enjoy because of the story and the music itself it lifts you beyond limits and takes you to a different place. When I saw this musical it was as if I was in a dream, but when intermission came and I saw all my bandies I was dissapointed. The reason this musical is so succesful is because it has a great story line and great performers to give you the bang for your buck, it truly is an amazing show and if you get a chance to travel and see it at the Gershwin Theatre you will be amazed by what you see.
Andrew EMS30
Thursday, June 9, 2011
Friday, April 8, 2011
Johnny English
Johnny English is a comedy film that is a knock off of James Bond, it is about a secret agent that gets into trouble and makes fun of himself along the way. This text appeals to me because it is hilarious and makes me laugh due to the resulting actions and the way the story unfolds. The way the story is told makes it seem serious at times but you know throughout it there will be funny parts that make the movie amazing. This video is not meant for all people probably for only those who like physical humour or like the acts of Mr.Bean. The reason a movie like this would be made is because they want to knock off the seriousness of say a 007 movie, and make it interesting in funny ways. The only reason I can think people can hate this is because they think it is stupid and is dumb movie, but for those some people it is a fun movie to laugh at. The controversy over the whole movie is possibly that the movie was based around the queen/king head of England, and that might have thrown some people that they based their movie around such stuff. The plot to the movie was deep, it had a good story line that was interesting to follow and with the indepth plot the comedic pieces were added in and made for a smooth ride. The part I did not like even though it was funny was when Johnny English went to far infront of the entire country of England and was trying to prove something he saw on the Arch Bishop of Canterbury's bottom. The entire video was well planned out and leads to an awesome movie for those who want to watch a hilarious comedy film the one and only Rowan Atkinson. Earlier this year they announced that a sequel Johnny English Returns is coming out Fall 2011. To me they left an ending to the first one so that there could be a second, but most like sequels they tend to be worse and make you wonder why on earth did they come back and ruin the attempt to make a sequel and make the first one look bad. I hope this new English film turns out as amazing as the first one. The first movie was really well done also with the special gadgets, with the high tech Aston Martin car, the tow truck and Aston Martin car scene and the crown jewels being stolen scene, I could go on but these are a few of the scenes that were highlighted in my mind. This to me is probably the funnier spy movies out there and I hope that if we watch a comedy in class Johnny English is a possibility because it is amazing.
Sunday, April 3, 2011
Vancouver 2010 opening ceremonies
This video comes straight from the Vancouver 2010 Olympic ceremonies held in Vancouver. The Olympic commitee from Vancouver 2010 created this opening ceremony and then applied it for millions of people to watch live. This production appeals to me because since it was from Canada and so am I it was very interesting to watch and support your country from across its land. I liked how the presentation was set up, it really showed alot about Canadians and its history and how Canada came to be. The thing I did not like was how one of the flames arms malfunctioned during its rising to the occasion, but technology is not perfect. The audience is intended to those who wanted to follow the olympics and to those who wanted to support their country and watch it for no sake at all. The text told a very big story, it celebrated the opening ceremonies to the Olympics held in Vancouver but it also had an opportunity to take time to show off what Canada is all about. This is a World story news story, it showed the best winter atheltes in the World coming together to compete and to enjoy the time in Vancouver. The reason I chose this topic was because it touched me probably more than anyone close to me. I had the opportunity to head to the Olympics for a week. Though I wasn't their for the opening ceremonies, I chose the video because it brought our country together to welcome the world to our soil. I had a chance to see 2 hockey venues and a curling one. I had an opportunity to see Switzerland and Belarus play a hockey match. The curling I was able to see was the Canadian womens team that won silver, play Sweden. There were also other on going curling games but that was the most memorable one. Then I got to see the team that impressed us all the Men's Canadian hockey team. It was a luck of the draw that we got to see them we bought tickets for the Qualifying rounds and since Canada lost a couple days before we lucked out and got to see them play the gritty German's. It was truly a once in a lifetime chance to be at the Olympics, and I lucked out to see the best team from Canada win gold later on at the Olympics. The atmosphere in Vancouver was exciting, everywhere you went you could feel the hype of the Olympics and what it felt like to be Canadian. It truly brought Canada together then, but now you don't even hear a word about it. It really is sad to think it went from hype to nothing so fast. It was a great February and I'm glad I was able to see Bobby Lou and the guys play the game I lucked out to see.
Friday, April 1, 2011
WKRP in Cincinnati
WKRP is a television show from 1978 that based its episodes around a radio station. The show ran for 4 seasons and was very popular during its time. The show had 8 key actors that their own role on the show. The show wasn't based on one actors humour, the entire cast played a big role in how show ran. The show ran for 4 years on CBS for those interested in watching a hilarious sitcom. The techniques in the show ran from probably basic everyday radio production. It seems as though the radio station had those who worked for marketing, the owner, disc jokeys, and receptionist. The thing I like about this tv show is that it is really funny, everyone has their sort of part that makes the humour continue. The thing that I dislike is that the plots are small due to the show being based around a radio station. The audience is targeted for those who enjoy a laugh and who want to know what the news is according to Les Nessman. WKRP appeals to its audience because it is entertaining and gives you as good laugh. This televison show tells a story that is based on a struggling radio station. The series is a sitcom, it has qualities of comedy which propelled it to be popular for the time it did run. There are all sorts of different types of characters there is Johnny Fever, Johnny is a disc jockey that isn't afraid to speak his mind. The thing in the show that makes Johnny funny is that when he enters a room with people in it he goes in and then says "can i come in", that is funny or well atleast to me it is. Then you have the anxious, and worrysome Mr. Carlson, he is the station owner that doesn't like to go ahead with risks because his mom might come down and question him about it. Then you have the quiet smart person Bailey Quarters who is a shy girl in the show that has insight that is good for the station but no one really likes to take her advice. Then there is Herb who is the sales associate who 'is in charge' in his mind, and if he sees something he doesn't like he goes right to Carlson to tell him about it in a way that Carlson might agree with him. Then you have Les Nessman who is the stations news guy, he tells hourly news that would make you laugh because it is pathetic news to say the least. He is self concious and always seems to get picked on the most.
Sunday, March 27, 2011
Dove, now for men!
If it wasn't time for the company that supported women for all those years to add men to their diet. Was it really what they wanted to do, or was it that they feel they have for so many years brought the women that would want their product in and now the well has run dry? Maybe, so what did they do for men? Well they brought out 3 different products, shampoo, body wash, and deodorant all coming in three different scents. So for dove on this one it was a possible money growth for the company by attracting men and getting them to possibly shop around for the trusted name Dove. What a great first commercial to help sell your brand new product for men. Dove hired a well known Olympic golden coach and a Stanley Cup winning coach from the Red Wings Mike Babcock. So Dove kicked off Dove Men + Care by hiring a winner which would attract those who want products indorsed by winners or well respected people. This is obviously a media tactic and works on all levels to sell products and hey if the product sells and it is a good product it works for me. But can we say Dove ran into the walls with women and resulted to supplying products to men? Possibly but the profits for those who buy Dove women products will contine to, but since their products aren't limited to just women their sales profit will increase now that they suppy both genders. So maybe this ad doesn't talk about the new product but it is an interview to show that anyone should be comfortable in their own skin and this product just enhances your comfortableness.
Friday, March 11, 2011
Zdeno's cheap shot on Pacioretty
This hit on Max Pacioretty happened on March the 9th, and left him motionless on the ice and he had to be taken off the ice on a stretcher. The league's ruling on the hit was nothing, Chara got away with a potential career ending hit. The hit didn't need to happen Chara didn't have to level him into the metal stantions that hold up the glass. In the result of the hit Pacioretty suffered a severe concussion and a broken 4th vertebra in his neck. The thing that gets me is that Chara didn't get a fine or suspension, but a day later Pavel Kubina got fined 60,000 dollars and got a 2 game suspension for elbowing someone lightly in the head. Okay, well maybe not lightly but Bolland got up and kept playing unlike Pacioretty. This was a headshot on Bolland like Chara's hit was on Pacioretty. Kubina got 2 games and a fine for knocking someone in the head with an elbow and Bolland kept playing, but Chara got nothing for a deadly hit that left Paches motionless on the ice. The league's got to do something how can they not fine Chara and a day later they fine Kubina? There should be a rule for headshots, if someone gets a 5 minute major and a game misconduct there should be a automatic fine and an amount of games the player is suspended for. For all headshots no matter if it is a harmless play like the NHL ruled on this play, there should be a fine and suspension no matter what. Head injuries can kill your career, look at Marc Savard he has had 2 concussions within 1-2 years and they just reported he is having memory issues... This doesn't seem to be a big problem going foreward, it is an enormous one.
Friday, March 4, 2011
Coca-Cola

This is a poster ad for Coca-Cola, trying to sell their popular delicious product to the people. This text comes from Coke. And it is owned by Coke. This text is distributed throughout the public by ads, Coke obviously profits because they profit from their product being sold. The text was made by someone thinking of a catchy way to make people want to buy this product. The production techniques used to create this were thought of in the way of people being dehydrated and with the zip and fizz of Coke this will enhance and give you a refreshing experience. The advertisment sells because if you look in the background the atmosphere looks warm and when its warm people will get thirsty, so therefore the advertisment for Coke in this very spot will do great things for their product. Looking at this photo looks as if mist is squirting out the side of the sign. This also gives reason to believe that they think mist is refreshing and that having a Coke would be just as refreshing as walking by this sign and getting wet. And with the Coke coming out of the container in the sign this is also a reason to believe the mist coming out of the sign will be exactly as amazing as Coke itself.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)